top of page

Move Past the Hurt


 

There's no easy way to go through pain. If you bottle it up, it will eventually explode. If you express it, it has to be done in a particular way so that bonds aren't broken and trust is secured. It's not easy.

What I've learned is that pain benefits us in the long run. It actually has many hidden blessings and disguised mercies. Pain changes us. Sometimes in a good way. Sometimes in a bad way. But it changes us. That's why the way we react to it, deal with it, and who we turn to with it, is so important.

When trust is broken, it can be rebuilt, but the bond is never the same. When relationships are broken, they can be restored, but they won't go back to the way they were before.

Turning to God is one healthy way of dealing with pain. In the past, I have asked God to be my Counselor, Comforter, and Healer in tough times and He has always been faithful to my requests, but only if I'm willing to let Him.

There were seasons where I desired to get better and others where I couldn't bring myself to do anything but dwell in my grief. It's okay to grieve. It's important to have time to be sad and work through that pain, but there's also a time to let God pick you back up. A time to be willing to let God heal you. A time to be honest about the fact that life goes on. About the fact that there's a beautiful future that awaits for those who love the Lord.

Turning to God in the midst of pain was what allowed me to experience the hurt, deal with the hurt, and move past the hurt. God is faithful in delivering us from the pain of this world, but it may not be in the way we expect. The process of healing is one that may take you out of your comfort zone, but it's worth it. Healing doesn't mean you won't be sad again about a particular situation. It means you're letting God work in your heart in a way that will allow for growth, freedom, stronger trust, and deeper communion with Him. We have to let Him work.

~Nicole

"Heal me, O Lord, and I will be healed; save me and I will be saved, for you are the one I praise." ~ Jeremiah 17:14

"But I will restore you to health and heal your wounds,’ declares the LORD" - Jeremiah 30:17


Recent Posts
bottom of page