top of page

Divine Privilege


 

We were each created by God. We were each molded by His hands. We were each made by a loving Father. We were each intentionally knitted together in our mother's womb.

We are the clay. God is the Potter. We are the creations. He is the Creator. We are His handiwork. When you think about our relationship with God through a metaphor like this, it really is a privilege and miracle that we can be in communion with Jesus Christ. That we can live in different realms with Him and yet He lives within us. That sin destined us to grow apart, yet Jesus died so we could grow together eternally. What a divine privilege.

It always confused me though, how in the Bible it talked about the clay saying to the Potter, "No, you didn't make me!" It was so obvious to me, a child who grew up in a Christian home, that God made me. But it may not be obvious to some people. I also had the thought that I would never say that to God, but you don't necessarily have to say those exact words for your heart to believe it. Like, it may be a subconscious attitude that God isn't actually in charge of your life, or that He doesn't actually know what is best for you. Saying, "you didn't make me" is a power struggle. It's the desire to be the god of your own life.

Sometimes I have to remind myself that the Father, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit, all three in one, have feeling, thoughts, and emotions just like us. Imagine how it makes Him feel to hear those words. After putting time and energy into molding someone, taking pride in this creation, and loving this clay so deeply, then to hear the denial that you actually made it. It must grieve the Holy Spirit to hear that!

I'm so thankful that we were each intentionally created! I'm so thankful that God is present, active, and alive in our lives. And I'm so thankful for the divine privilege of getting to know our Creator!

~Nicole

"You turn things upside down, as if the potter were thought to be like the clay! Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it, “You did not make me”? Can the pot say to the potter, “You know nothing”?" - Isaiah 29:16

"Yet you, LORD, are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter. We are all the work of your hand." -Isaiah 64:8


Recent Posts
bottom of page